
Babylon5 CCG – Quickstart Rules
(and beginner and first game optional rules)

The playmat:

From the top left: Centauri, League of Non-Aligned Worlds (Non-Aligned), Minbari, Narn, Human

This game is reccomended for 4 or 5 players, it works for 3 and 6 too and could theoretically work 
for more than that. 2 player games only work if decks are built for the purpose, the starter boxes are 
examples of such decks.

Expected time to play is typically 2-4 hours.

Setup
● Put the above playmat in the centre of the table so everyone can interact with it
● Set all the Grey boxes (Unrest) to 1, except set the Non-Aligned to 2

● The faction logo is in this grey box, eg. The centauri logo is a hair crest, this appears in 
purple in the other faction displays.

● Set all the other boxes (Tensions) to 2 and then make the following changes
● Centauri to Narn and Narn to Centauri Tension starts at 4
● Minbari to Human and Human to Minbari Tension starts at 3
● Centauri to Human and Human to Centauri Tension starts at 1

● Set the circles in the middle (the Influence of Babylon5, Vorlon and Shadows) to 4
● All players need a bunch of counters

● take 4 Influence tokens and place them in their faction

SUMMARY:
● All Unrest 1,  

● Non-Aligned Unrest 2
● Tensions 2, 

● Centaur<>Human 1, 
● Centauri<>Narn4, 
● Minbari<>Human3

● Everyone starts with 4 Influence, even those circles in the middle of the playmat



Bring the decks to the table:

● Each player places an ambassador on the table, in their Upper Row (Inner Circle)
● Hold a Review

● There can be only 1 of each faction ambassador on the table
● If there is a duplicate, the players flip a coin or decide to switch or replace their 

ambassador with the other racial ambassador. 
● Note that Sinclair and Sheridan are in the same faction and so can not be in play 

together. The Sheridan starting ambassadors say this on their cards in a less than 
obvious phrase

● For every faction of the same race, increase that factions Unrest by 1
● So if Morgan-Clark, Sinclair/ Sheridan and Bester are all in play, unrest will start at 3 for

the humans
● If multiple factions of the same race are in play, create an additional Tension tracks to 

represent the tension between those races.
● Each player takes 3 starting hand cards

● The Non-Aligned must have an additional species Ambassador in their starting hand
● After being added to the starting hand it is played as normal
● The original rulebook says something different, but the latest says this

● Only one of each type of card is allowed
● ie. only 1 character
● the non-aligned additional ambassador is a character, but that does not count towards

this limit
● These are usually kept separate by players, often in different coloured deck protectors. 

That rarely affects game play, but keep a couple of spare deck protectors handy just in 
case you need to shuffle those cards into your deck (extremely rare).

● When counting the minimum deck size, these cards are part of that deck
● Place a deck built to the following rules, DO NOT DRAW any cards from it

● No more than 3 cards with the same text 
● some cards were reprinted that are different, technically the new prints are the only 

version that should be played with
● No more than 1 copy of any card that is Unique
● Minimum of 60 cards

● Optional rule: Some groups still play with 45 as the minimum

SUMMARY:
● Each player has a faction Ambassador
● No player is playing the same faction as another
● Each player has 4 Influence
● Each player has a 60+ card deck, 

● with no more than 3 of each card and only 1 of each unique card
● Each player has a 3 card starting hand

● with no more than 1 of each card type
● the non-aligned have an additional species ambassador card



Winning the Game:
● You check for victory in the "check for victory" phase
● If you have at least 20 Influence + Power,
● And more than any other player,
● You win the game
● Calculate who comes 2nd, 3rd, 4th, etc

Special Rules – Victory Conditions:
● If Babylon 5 is at 20 Influence and no player has checked for victory

● The game is at an end
● Calculate who comes 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, etc

● If either the Vorlons or the Shadows are at 20 Influence
● The Shadow war has started and the victory conditions have changed
● You must score a major victory to win

● A Major victory is one where 
● you have 20 Influence + Power
● And 10 more than any other player
● Some Agenda's and other cards permit a Major Victory



Turn Phases:

Ready Round

Initiative

Conflict Declaration

The Action Round

Conflict Resolution

Check for Victory

Draw Cards

List of Actions:

Pass
Build
Perform an Action on a Card
Play an Event card
Play a Contingency Card
Sponsor a Character, Fleet, Location, Enhancement, Group or Agenda
Promote a Character to the Inner Circle
Replace a Card with an appropriate replacement
Rotate to heal a Character that is not neutralised
Rotate to heal a Fleet that is not neutralised
Rotate to heal a character that is neutralised
Discard your Agenda
Reveal a hidden Agenda
Support or Oppose an Opposable Conflict (standard)
Support a faction in a Conflict that all factions may participate in
Attack a participant in a conflict



Turn Phase Details and Notes:

● Ready Round
● Unrotate any card that is rotated
● Reclaim any spent (not lost) Influence
● You may sustain any card, eg. leave a leader leading a fleet

● Initiative
● The highest influence total is 1, the next is 2, etc
● if there is a tie, the highest Diplomacy breaks it
● if there is still a tie check Intrigue
● if there is still a tie check Psi
● if there is still a tie check Leadership
● if there is still a tie, flip a coin

● Conflict Declaration
● In reverse Initiative order

● Each player decides if they are playing a conflict
● If they are they place a card face down to represent this
● note: 

● if it is from an agenda you do not have to place a card, 
● if you do, make sure it is not a conflict card and one you don't mind revealing

● The Action Round
● More on this later
● It is - in Initiative order (not reverse)

● Conflict Resolution
● In reverse Initiative order, for each conflict in play

● if it was unsupported that is a special condition
● count the total support and opposition and determine the result
● a conflict with a net of 0 or less is a lost conflict

● lost aftermaths may be played on it's participants
● a conflict with a net of 1+ is a won conflict

● won aftermaths may be played by the initiator of the conflict (only)
● An Aftermath is Limited per target card, 

● ie. United Front target's your ambassador, another faction can play it too on their 
Ambassador after their own conflict, neither of you can play another copy on 
your ambassador as it is limited within the scope of the card it targets

● Discard any neutralised cards or cards no longer in play
● Uncontested is only if the initiator wins and there is no opposition

● Check for Victory
● see "Winning the Game" above

● Draw Cards
● Each player must draw 1 card

● if they can't they must discard an inner circle character
● If the player has any unspent Influence they may BUY extra cards

● it costs 3 Influence per card



Anatomy of a card

4 = the abilities; Diplomacy (green), Intrigue (blue), Psi (purple),
Leadership/ Military (orange)
3 = Card Subtype and Type (this one is a Character with the subtype
Minbari)
2 = the Cost in Influence
7 = Flavour text, nothing in this counts towards anything in the game.
It is exempt from all rules

The Action Round:

In the Action Round, starting with the highest initiative player (1) each player takes 1 action. Then 
the next player in the initiative takes and action, and so on.

The Action Round continues until all players have passed in sequence.

In the action round a player may:
● Pass

● If you can't do an Action you must pass
● You can Pass instead of taking an Action
● If all players Pass in sequence the action round ends

● eg. the 3rd player in initiative passes, then every other player passes until play passes
to the 2nd player. He could play a card, or do another thing but, he realises his conflict
will resolve with him as the victor so he decides to pass too. Ending the action 
round. Play then passes on to the resolution phase.

● Build
● 9 or less Influence only
● Spend 3 Influence (do not discard it, you get it back at the start of the next turn)
● Increase your Influence total by 1

● New Influence always goes into the Unspent pile
● Perform an Action on a card in play

● eg. Rotate to restore 1 Influence (Drazi Merchant)
● Play an Event card

● Place the card on the table
● Pay the cost
● Read the event outloud and action all of the text
● Discard the event
● The effect applies until the end of the resolution round

● Play a Contingency Card
● Place the card under the target card, face down
● Do not reveal it
● Contingencies are limited to each target seperately
● Later when an appropriate trigger occurs, you may reveal the card

● When a contingency triggers it does not count as the players action
● The action was taken to play the card under it's target
● After it is revealed and brought into play following the trigger, discard it

● Sponsor a Character, Fleet, Location, Enhancement, Group or Agenda
● Rotate an Inner Circle Character



● Bring the card onto the table in the supporting row (lower row)
● If space is limited put the cards anywhere you like
● but keep the inner circle clearly above everything

● Note that Agendas are usually placed beside to the left of the ambassador
● If another agenda is in play, the old one is discarded
● If you wish to you may play your agenda face down as a hidden agenda

● A hidden agenda's text is considered blank
● A character from another race costs double
● Characters, Fleets, Groups and Locations are Limited to the Global Play Area

● No two copies can be in play at once
● Enhancements and Aftermaths are limited within the scope of their Target

● No target may have two copies of the same Enhancement or Aftermath
● Promote a Character to the Inner Circle

● The Character being Promoted must be Ready (not rotated)
● Rotate an Inner Circle Character
● Pay Influence equal to the card cost plus the number of Inner Circle characters
● Move the Character to the Upper Row, it is now and Inner Circle Character

● Replace a Card with an appropriate replacement
● A card that says "may replace" can as an option be played as a character in it's own right 

without the replacement.
● The old card is discarded, if it was supporting or opposing a conflict it is no longer doing

that. It is common to attack or sponsor with the character first
● The new card is fully healed, un-neutralised and ready

● ie. this is why Delenn Transformed is neutralised by Chrysalis after the replacement 
occurs

● Some replacement cards have additional rules
● Take special note of how many things transfer, the phrases used are not universal, if the 

mark or contingency or whatever is not listed, it does not transfer and is discarded
● Increases to attributes by cards that were discarded at the time, never transfer

● Rotate to heal a Character that is not neutralised
● Remove all damage tokens
● A character can not heal in the same turn that it took damage

● Rotate to heal a Fleet that is not neutralised
● Rotate the fleet and spend 1 influence
● The fleet heals 1 damage
● ie. as it is now rotated it can't do it again
● Note that fleets can not heal severe damage unless permitted by another card

● Rotate to heal a character that is neutralised
● The damage must have been applied in the previous turn

● eg. conflicts resolved and a ready round occured
● ie. This usually only applies to Inner Circle characters
● If there are severe damage tokens on the card, remove 1
● If the card is neutralised, turn it face up, it is no longer neutralised

● Discard your Agenda
● Reveal a hidden Agenda
● Support or Oppose an Opposable Conflict (standard)

● Rotate the character
● In resolution the character's ability is counted towards the total support of the conflict

● Support a faction in a Conflict that all factions may participate in



● if it is one of these the conflict says in its description
● eg. prey on the weak

● Attack a participant in a conflict
● Only participants in conflicts can be attacked
● The attacker must be eligible to participate
● The attacker may only attack a participant that is using the conflict ability

● ie. "level the playing field" prevents the target from being attacked
● You can not level diplomacy as diplomacy to gain that protection, the card is worded

carefully to avoid that
● The attacker and defender apply the ability they use in damage to the other
● All of a damaged character's abilites are reduced by the damage total

● ie. the ammount they will add to the conflict in resolution is reduced
● If the damage reduces the highest ability to 0 the card is neutralised

● flip a neutralised card face down
● If the damage is more than the highest ability, add severe damage tokens equal to the

excess.
● eg. ability 3, takes 4 damage, then it is neutralised with 1 severe damage

● The attacker must be of the same type
● Hariman Grey is a character with military, a fleet can not attack him
● A location can not be attacked, unless allowed by a special card

● Locations can not attack
 



APPENDIX

General Note – gaining and losing Influence:
● New Influence always goes into the Unspent pile
● Influence you lose is taken from the unspent pile, if possible

General Note – Psi:
● A character with Psi is a Teep
● A character without Psi is a Mundane

General note – bonuses:
● Rules for cards that awards a bonus, eg. +1 Diplomacy
● If the character does not have psi, a card that applies a bonus to psi can not be played on it. 

ie. The card Dust, is worded to be an exception to this rule

General Note – Limited Cards:
● A card is Limited unless it states that is is multiple
● A card is Limited even if a different name is used
● ie. if Player1 has Doctor Franklin in play, then Player 2 can not play Stephen Franklin
● Cards do not die, they can be played again

● ie. dimplomatic damage may send a character away from the table but it does not kill 
them

● Characters, Locations, Fleets and Groups are Limited to the Global Play Area
● Enhancements, Aftermaths and Contingencies are Limited to the card they target

● You can only attach one card of each name to another
● Events are not Limited

General Note – Unique Cards:
● A card is Unique if it states that it is unique in the text
● A unique card can only exist in play once
● A unique card is unique to the Global Play Area

General Note – Irrevokable:
● This means that once done it can not be undone nor reversed
● Any effect that includes a deck shuffle can not be undone and is inherantly Irevokable

General Note – Marks:

Conspiracy
● Unless mentioned here Marks are referenced by other cards, the exceptions are
● Strife

● Each strife mark adds +2 damage in an attack
● Conspiracy

● A psi corps card can only be played into a non-psi corps faction if there are more 
conspiracy marks than psi corps cards

● A non-psi corps cards can only be played into a psi corps faction if there are more 
conspiracy marks than non-psi corps cards



General Note - States:
● A state (eg. War, trade, etc) is referenced by other cards. 
● A card is required to create a state.
● A state exists to allow other cards to be played. 
● War is the only state that comes with some default rules (conflicts that can be played, etc).

Special Note – WAR:
● If a faction is at war with another they may declare a war conflict on the other side
● There are 2 war conflicts and either may be declared

● Targetting a Location
● The victor gains control of the location, 

● if the victor is not the correct race they can not use the locations text
● turn the card upside down to avoid confusing yourself

● Target the Faction
● The loser loses 1 Influence

The Babylon 5 Vote – mini game:
● The Sinclair/ Sheridan player calls the vote if in play
● If not the player that played the card calls the vote
● Calling the vote

● Only the 5 ambassadors to babylon 5 may vote;
● Sinclair/ Sheridan, Mollari, Delenn, G'Kar, the Vorlons

● When called the faction must either vote, yes, no or abstain
● If a faction is not in play, they abstain

● ie. the vorlons almost always abstain though, some cards can change that
● Resolution

● If there are more yes votes than no votes, the vote is a success
● If the is a tie then the Non-Aligned may decide which way the vote goes

● If the non-aligned are not in play they abstain and the result is a No
● The action round resumes


